2003 Minority Doctoral Student Scholarship

Applications are now being accepted for the 2003 Minority Doctoral Student
Scholarship, an award of $1400. The scholarship is sponsored by the
Communication Theory and Methodology Division of the Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication. The scholarship honors Professor Lionel
C. Barrow of Howard University in recognition of his pioneering efforts in
support of minority education in journalism and mass communication.

Minority students (U.S. citizens or permanent residents) enrolled in a Ph.D.
program in journalism and/or mass communication are encouraged to apply. The
Division presented its 31st award in 2002 to Mia Moody-Hall, a doctoral
student at the University of Texas. Other recent winners (affiliation at time
of award) include: 2001 George Daniels, Georgia; 2000 Maria Len-Rios,
Missouri; 1999 Meredith Li-Vollmer, Washington and Kelley McCoy, Washington;
1998 Osei Appiah, Stanford; 1997 Alice Chan, Michigan State; 1996 Dwayne
Proctor, Connecticut; 1995 Dhavan Shah, Minnesota; 1994 Qingwen Dong,
Washington State; 1993 Shalini Venturelli, Colorado.

The award is made possible in part through contributions from the Minorities
and Communication Division, the Commission on the Status of Minorities,
personal donations, as well as royalties from Guido H. Stempel and Bruce H
Westley's Research Methods in Mass Communication.

Applicants need not be members of AEJMC or the CT&M Division. Applications
will be judged on the likelihood the candidate's work will contribute to
communication theory and/or methodology. To be considered for this
scholarship, please send a curriculum vitae, a letter outlining research
interests and career plans, and two letters of recommendation to:
Michael A. Shapiro
Dept. of Communication
Cornell University
319 Kennedy Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853
(Questions may be addressed to Prof. Shapiro at [log in to unmask] or 607 255

All materials should be postmarked by June 16, 2003.