AEJMAC-L Archives



Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"Byerly, Carolyn M." <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Byerly, Carolyn M.
Sun, 1 May 2011 17:48:34 -0400
text/plain (51 lines)
You make us all proud!  Hope you enjoy your new posts.

Carolyn M. Byerly, Ph.D.
Department of Journalism
John H. Johnson School of Communications
Howard University
525 Bryant St., NW, Washington, DC 20059
Office:  202-806-5121
Email:  [log in to unmask] or [log in to unmask]
From: FOR THE MINORITIES AND COMMUNICATION DIV. OF AEJMC [[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of E. K. Daufin [[log in to unmask]]
Sent: Friday, April 29, 2011 5:32 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: 2011 AEJMC MACers Election Results

It is with great pleasure that we acknowledge the following MACers who have won 2011 AEJMC national positions.  Please let me know if I have left anyone out.
Paula Poindexter Elected as AEJMC Vice President:

[cid:image001.jpg@01CC068A.FA190920]Paula Poindexter, Associate Professor and Graduate Adviser in the School of Journalism at the University of Texas at Austin, has been a manager and executive at the Los Angeles Times and a reporter and producer for KPRC-TV in Houston.  She has published in Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, Newspaper Research Journal, Journalism & Mass Communication Educator, Journal of Communication, Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media, and Harvard International Journal of Press & Politics. Co-author of Research in Mass Communication:  A Practical Guide and lead editor of Women, Men, and News:  Divided and Disconnected in the News Media Landscape, Poindexter is currently writing her third book to be published next year.

Elected to a three-year term on the Professional Freedom and Responsibility Committee:

[cid:image002.png@01CC068A.FA190920]Deb Aikat is a former journalist and has served since 1995 on the faculty of the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Journalism and Mass Communication. An award-winning researcher and teacher of news media, Aikat was the inaugural winner of the Scripps Howard's National Journalism Teacher (2003) Award. An AEJMC member since 1992, Aikat chaired the Teaching Committee in 2009-10 and conducted the Best Practices Competition in information gathering (2008), diversity (2009), and critical thinking (2010).  Read More<>

elected to a three-year term on the Teaching Committee:
Anita Fleming-Rife is full professor and the newly appointed Special Assistant to the President for Equity and Diversity at the University of Northern Colorado.  She has taught skills and conceptual courses for more than two decades in JMC. At Penn State, Fleming-Rife served on the Commission for Racial and Ethnic Diversity and the Taskforce to assess the University's Framework to Foster Diversity.  At Northern Colorado, she assisted its journalism program in conducting a Self-Study, and made recommendations for incorporating diversity into the curriculum.  Read More<>

Know Justice; Know Peace,
Rev. Dr. E-K Daufin
Professor of Communication
Media & Society Size Equity Expert
ASU FSA/AFT Co-VP for Faculty
AEJMC MAC Membership Chair
Alabama State University
915 S. Jackson St.
Montgomery, AL 36101-0271
(334) 229-6885<>
Your research and creative activity referrals are welcomed.
With all my heart I want to work with and for kind, competent, strong people who love and help me and I they.  Ashe!