AEJMAC-L Archives



Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Felix Gutierrez <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Felix Gutierrez <[log in to unmask]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2011 14:47:40 -0700
text/plain (88 lines)
MAC Members:
Congratulations to future AEJMC President Paula Poindexter!!!  
And also to all the other MAC members elected to leadership positions in AEJMC.
Your Humble Constituent,

----- Original Message -----
From: Petra Guerra <[log in to unmask]>
Date: Friday, April 29, 2011 2:40 pm
Subject: Re: 2011 AEJMC MACers Election Results
To: [log in to unmask]

> Congratulations to each of you, this is a great accomplishment.
> Petra  Guerra, PhD
> Vice Head MAC/AEJMC
> University of TX-Pan American
> Assistant Professor
> Department Of Communication
> 1201 W. University Dr.
> Edinburg, TX  78539
> 956-318-5330
> [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of E. K. Daufin
> Sent: Friday, April 29, 2011 4:32 PM
> To: [log in to unmask]
> Subject: 2011 AEJMC MACers Election Results
> It is with great pleasure that we acknowledge the following MACers 
> who have won 2011 AEJMC national positions.  Please let me know if 
> I have left anyone out.
> Paula Poindexter Elected as AEJMC Vice President:
> []Paula Poindexter, Associate Professor and Graduate Adviser in the School of Journalism at the University of Texas at Austin, has been a manager and executive at the Los Angeles Times and a reporter and producer for KPRC-TV in Houston.  She has published in Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, Newspaper Research Journal, Journalism & Mass Communication Educator, Journal of Communication, Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media, and Harvard International Journal of Press & Politics. Co-author of Research in Mass Communication:  A Practical Guide and lead editor of Women, Men, and News:  Divided and Disconnected in the News Media Landscape, Poindexter is currently writing her third book to be published next year.
> Elected to a three-year term on the Professional Freedom and 
> Responsibility Committee:
> []Deb 
> Aikat is a former journalist and has served since 1995 on the 
> faculty of the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Journalism and Mass 
> Communication. An award-winning researcher and teacher of news 
> media, Aikat was the inaugural winner of the Scripps Howard's 
> National Journalism Teacher (2003) Award. An AEJMC member since 
> 1992, Aikat chaired the Teaching Committee in 2009-10 and 
> conducted the Best Practices Competition in information gathering 
> (2008), diversity (2009), and critical thinking (2010).  Read 
> More<>
> elected to a three-year term on the Teaching Committee:
> Anita Fleming-Rife is full professor and the newly appointed 
> Special Assistant to the President for Equity and Diversity at the 
> University of Northern Colorado.  She has taught skills and 
> conceptual courses for more than two decades in JMC. At Penn 
> State, Fleming-Rife served on the Commission for Racial and Ethnic 
> Diversity and the Taskforce to assess the University's Framework 
> to Foster Diversity.  At Northern Colorado, she assisted its 
> journalism program in conducting a Self-Study, and made 
> recommendations for incorporating diversity into the curriculum.  
> Read More<>
> []
> Know Justice; Know Peace,
> Rev. Dr. E-K Daufin
> Professor of Communication
> Media & Society Size Equity Expert
> ASU FSA/AFT Co-VP for Faculty
> AEJMC MAC Membership Chair
> Alabama State University
> 915 S. Jackson St.
> Montgomery, AL 36101-0271
> (334) 229-6885
> Your research and creative activity referrals are welcomed.
> With all my heart I want to work with and for kind, competent, 
> strong people who love and help me and I they.  Ashe!