AEJMAC-L Archives



Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Sharon Bramlett-Solomon <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Sharon Bramlett-Solomon <[log in to unmask]>
Mon, 18 Sep 2017 23:05:24 +0000
text/plain (4 kB) , text/html (102 kB)

Please know we appreciate your sending MAC members the 2017 Council of Divisions Meeting Notes you took from the council session.

In my view, this report is extremely informative and insightful for MAC members.  Your council meeting overview informs our thinking regarding the council’s business agenda and helps in our AEJMC conference long-term planning and participation.

Thank you!

All the Best,

Sharon Bramlett-Solomon, PhD
Associate Professor
ASU Lincoln Center Past Professor of Media & Culture
Cronkite School of Journalism & Mass Communication
Arizona State University|555 N. Central Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Office:  602  496-3678
[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]> (best way to reach me)

I will lift up my eyes unto the hills from whence cometh my help….

From: MACmail list MAC list OU <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>> on behalf of "Moody-Ramirez, Mia" <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>>
Reply-To: "Moody-Ramirez, Mia" <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>>
Date: Monday, August 28, 2017 at 2:41 PM
To: MACmail list MAC list OU <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>>
Subject: 2017-18 Councils of Divisions Meeting Notes

Below are my notes from the 2017-18 Councils of Divisions Meeting. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Business Session: 2017-18 Councils of Divisions Meeting

·      Division numbers are lower
·      Divisions/Interest groups must discuss how to increase membership
·      Lots of people go to regional conferences but do not go to annual convention
·      Fifty-two percent of members are not involved in interest groups/divisions

Annual Reports
·      Make sure you have annual reports from the last three years
·      Do not just copy and paste from previous years
·      Show accomplishments and challenges

Conference Location 2020, Votes Rankings
·      New Orleans #1
·      Austin #2

Pre-conference sessions include:
·      Free room/projector
·      Division pays for food and travel for speaker
·      Next year, it will be held on Aug. 5

Chip auction site:
·      Divisions - 6 chips
·      Interest groups - 3 Chips
·      Five slots or more @ poster sessions
·      Half chip to collaborate with other divisions

Research sessions include
·      traditional
·      high density
·      scholar to scholar
·      PF&R
·      teaching

Scholar-to-Scholar Session
·      Poster session - 5-7 slots free
·      To cut down on confusion George Daniels recommended calling these sessions Scholar to Scholar Poster Sessions

Recommendations to encourage participation at poster sessions include:
·      Give awards (first, second and third)
·      Publicizing them as poster session
·      Getting word out that they are not “lesser” sessions

High Density
·      Usually ten papers
·      Eight sessions available
·      Good for people who have a problem with poster session

Panel Suggestions
·      Keep updating information
·      Oct. 16 - joint session forms due
·      Nov. 9 - file a joint session request
·      Feb. 15 start finalizing
·      March 15 - program copy due
·      April - contact research chair to determine if additional sessions are needed

Panels Deals
·      It is not a deal until both groups agree
·      If you back out, communicate with divisions

·      Start early
·      Be flexible
·      Make changes in system

Upcoming Conferences
·      2018 conference will be held in Washington DC
·      2019 Toronto
·      2019 International Conference in Paris
·      2020 New Orleans

2017-18 AEJMC MAC Officers:

Head: Mia Moody-Ramirez, Baylor University
Vice Head: Riva Brown, Central Arkansas
Faculty Research Chair: George Daniels, Alabama
Graduate Research Chair: Joseph Erba, Kentucky
Midwinter Coordinator: Melody Fisher, Mississippi State University
PF&R Chair: Danielle Kilgo, Indiana University
Teaching Standards Chair: Sadaf Ali, Eastern Michigan University
Newsletter Chair: Benjamin LaPoe, Ohio University
Faculty Liaison: Victoria LaPoe, Ohio University
Graduate Liaison: Leticia Williams, Howard University
Social Media Coordinators:
Miriam Hernandez, City University of Hong Kong
Miya Williams, Northwestern University
Webmaster: Mas Biswas
List-serve/Membership Coordinator: Meta Carstarphen, Oklahoma
CSW/MAC Mentorship Program Liaison: Kathleen McLeroy, University of Texas at Austin

Respectfully Submitted,

Mia Moody-Ramirez, Ph.D.