AEJMAC-L Archives



Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"E. K. Daufin" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
E. K. Daufin
Mon, 28 Sep 2009 12:41:46 -0500
text/plain (63 lines)
I am working on deadline on a chapter for former head Dr. Rios but I would like to see the MAC Division membership nominate someone for EACH AWARD.  Is there someone not writing on a deadline at this time who could take charge of making that nomination happen by Nov. 2?  If there is please CALL me at the number below and I can at least leave you a return voice mail about how to do that.  

Know Justice, Know Peace,
Rev. Dr. E-K. Daufin, Professor of Communication
National Media Weight Discrimination Expert
AEJMC MAC Divison Membership Chair
ASU Faculty/Staff Alliance - AFT/AFL-CIO, Co VP for Faculty
Alabama State University
915 South Jackson St.
Montgomery, AL 36101-0271
334-229-6885  [log in to unmask]
Thanks in advance for your research and creative activity referrals:

With all my heart I want fulfilling work, for abundant pay, in a beautiful, functional environment, working with and for only talented, loving, cooperative, generous people who appreciate and respect me and I they. Ashe!

-----Original Message-----
From: FOR THE MINORITIES AND COMMUNICATION DIV. OF AEJMC [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Carstarphen, Meta G.
Sent: Saturday, September 26, 2009 11:01 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: AEJMC Awards nominations open



AEJMC Deutschmann and Blum Awards: Call for Nominations 


The AEJMC Standing Committee on Research encourages nominations for two awards. 


The Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research recognizes a body of significant research over the course of an individual's career. The award is named in honor of Paul J. Deutschmann, who developed the College of Communication Arts at Michigan State University. 


The Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award was created to recognize people who have devoted substantial parts of their careers to promoting research in mass communication. It is named in honor of its first recipient, Eleanor Blum, a long-time communication librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. 


The Deutschmann and Blum awards are not necessarily given every year, but awards for both will be considered for 2010. Nominations must be received by November 2, 2009, and should include a letter describing the nominee's contributions in the area of the award. The packet also should include the nominee's C.V. and at least five additional letters of support (preferably more) from colleagues who can attest to the candidate's qualifications for the award. Nominators should represent a range of institutions and perspectives on the nominee's accomplishments. 


Nomination letters and packets for the Deutschmann Award should be sent to Patricia Curtin, School of Journalism and Communication, 1275 University of Oregon, Eugene, OR 97403-1275. Please direct any question to Dr. Curtin at 541-346-3752 or [log in to unmask] 


Nomination letters and packets for the Blum Award should be sent to Linda Shipley, University of Nebraska-Lincoln,  College of Journalism and Mass Communications, 200 Centennial Mall North,  Lincoln, NE  68588-0443.   Please direct any questions to Dr. Shipley at 402-472-8232 or [log in to unmask]

Meta G. Carstarphen, Ph.D., APR
Gaylord Endowed Family Professor &
Associate Professor
University of Oklahoma
Gaylord College of Journalism & Mass Communication
395 W. Lindsey Blvd  Room 3510C
Norman, OK  73071
(405) 325-5227
*Couch Residence Hall Faculty-in-Residence, 2006-2010*